A few words about the Mythology and History of the Area…
Sithonia was named after Sithon, King of Macedonia and son of Poseidon (god of the sea) and Ossa. Sithonia has been inhabitants since Neolithic times, a fact based on archeological evidence found in Toroni. Since the 10th century AC, most of the peninsula belonged to the monasteries of Mount Athos. Fishing villages were establishes during the middle ages – on the ‘metochia’ (feudal dependencies belonging to the monasteries). In 1922, many towns wee establishes in Sithonia, after refuges from Asia Minor settled in the area
‘Parthenonas’, a unique traditional settlement, only 5 km away from Neos Marmaras,
The architecture and the ribbon development of Parthenonas preserve the atmosphere of the previous century. Parthenonas is under protection by state and E.U. law as it is considered a traditional settlement, dating bacj to the Byzantine Era. It constitutes the right choice for those who wish to explore the Dragoudelis slopes and enjoy the pleasant climate and panoramic views. A growing number of travellers is attracted by its beauty and, these days, visitors may find many restaurants and guesthouses.
By 1970 this mountain village had been abandoned by all its inhabitants, who moved down to Neos Marmaras. It is believed to occupy the site of the ancient Parthenopolis. It is built on the slopes of Mt.Itamos, the main mountain mass of Sithonia, at an altitude of 810m. In recent years the village has acquired a new lease of life. Many of the old houses have been restored, preserving the original character of the village.
In Neos Marmaras
- The two local Folklore and Cultural Museum of Neos Marmaras and Parthenonas – ‘Paschalakio’ Cultural Centre & Parthenonas Cultural Centre
- A replica of the boat “Santala’ at the town center
- Kelyfos Island. In Roman times there was a small installation on the northeast side on the small by, probably a military installation
- The main church of Marmaras ‘Pammegiston Taxiarchon’
- The church of ‘Agios Stefanos’ at Parthenonas
- The church of ‘Zoodochos Pigi’ and the Water Mill of ‘Konisti’
- The chapel of ‘Profitis Ilias’ at the top of the hill
- The chapel of ‘Agios Athanasios’ at Parthenonas
- The chapel of ‘Agios Georgios’ at ‘Azapiko’ beach
- Various ‘Metochia’ (annexes to monasteries) such as:
- ‘Agia Kyriaki’ in the ‘Siminitiko’ area
- The ruins of the Metochi in ‘Tripotamos’ area
- Metochi of ‘Grigoriou’ Monastery
- The old section of Nikiti, containing houses which were built from the 1830 on
- The church of Agios Nikitas (1867)
- The old school (19th century)
- The cemetery church which was built back in 16th century
- The early Christian basilica of Agios George
- The early Christian basilica of Agios Sophronios
- The chapels dedicated to Agios Pavlos, Agios Panteleimon and Agios Athanasios
- On the Lykithos headland stood the second acropolis of Toroni, and the remains of a Byzantine fort can still be seen, probably destroyed during the Ottoman occupation
- The early Christian temple of Agios Athanasios, which was built in the 5th century
The Iron Age cemetery (11th century BC) where 134 tombs have been excavated and 500 fully preserved artefacts came to light.
In Porto Koufo
- Porto Koufo is the bigger and safest natural harbor in Greece and offers a calm mooring for fishing boats and yachts in all weathers.
The southernmost cape ‘Kartalia’ of Sithonia (very dangerous for navigators-very impressive as a landscape
- The fortification that was constructed by the Germans during the World War II, which also preserves the underground chambers and the platforms which they set the machine guns
- The underwater cave ‘Erica’ and the old iron Turkish pirate shipwreck
- Sykia is one of the oldest villages in Halkidiki, formerly names as Logos, once belonged to the Megisti Lavra Monastery.
- The old quarter of Sykia (19th century)
- The Church of Agios Athanasios (1819)
- The remains of the old school
- On nearby Koukos Hill are the remains of a castle (11th century BC)
- The windmills on the long sandy beach of Sykia (19th century)
- The ruins of the church in Episkopi
- It was built by refugees from Afissia, an island in the Sea of Marmara, in Asia Minor.
- The ‘metoxi’ of the monastery of Xiropotamou (1867)
- The beach ‘Kavourotrypes’
Vourvourou – Ormos Panagias
- The bay of Kriftos (hidden bay). Hidden on the north side of Diaporos, it used to be pirates’ heaven in the old years.
- The reef of Vourvourou, a unique to the Greek sea world coral reef
- The ‘Great Wall’ (Mega Tichos), a small peninsula north of Vourvourou
- The Byzantine Temple dedicated to Virgin Mary
- The tower on the coast of the little peninsula. Here was situated the prehistoric settlement Siggos and latter on the monastery dedicated to Agios Nikolaos
- The hill Vetrino, with prehistoric and ancient acropolis
- The Chaple dedicated to Agios Georgios
- The picturesque paved alleys and traditional houses of the 19th century
- The church of Agios Dimitrios, back to 17th century, which also gives the village its second name
- The tower dating from the 14th century AC in the area called Kambos, which was part of the monastery property
- Remainders of a Byzantine castle among the village’s houses